Some people think that the best way to run a business is within the family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of a family run business?

While the strategies for operating a business vary from person to person, running it internal to the family is one of those and has been in existence since long time. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of limiting the administration of a firm to the family.

The prime advantage of family business is that kinsmen will be inclined to invest more in the business compared to other stakeholders. Furthermore, they will even be ready for pay-cut in critical times for the welfare of the business, but this cannot be expected from outsiders. However, on the downside, in extreme cases, this will result in nepotism. Consequently, people, who are not eligible for the position, will be given prominence, jeopardizing the growth of the company.

In spite of that, irrespective of the designation, relatives will be willing to carry out diverse roles in the company. For instance, they will be interested in sharing their ideas and experiences across departments because; they have an emotional attachment to the organization. Nevertheless, this practice may result in an unstructured hierarchy in the firm and as a backlash, there may not be a proper decision making, resulting in chaos.

On the other hand, most family members have informal training from childhood and they know the in and out of the business. Moreover, they will be groomed for taking over the business by getting schooled in various divisions and ranks and so they become perfectly qualified to undertake the company. On the downside, sometimes, people may emphasize family conflicts and hence, may find it hard to draw a line between professional and personal life. Consequently, then concern’s development may be compromised.

In a nutshell, as any plan of action, even family owned businesses have their own edges and pitfalls. Hence, it is crucial to be vigilant about the negative aspects and to reap the benefits of the leverages.