Some people think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves.

Discuss both the sides and give your opinion.

With the increase in crime rate, the need to inhibit the occurrence of felony has become the need of the hour. However, who should take charge of this responsibility is a moot point. Before coming to a reasoned conclusion, this essay will discuss if it should be the authorities or the people.

A section of our society concedes that, the government should be accountable for curbing crime. This is because; they have trained professionals to handle the problem. For instance, criminologists study the pattern of the crime and have the advantage of their knowledge in criminal profiling. Moreover, the human force under their disposal will be instrumental in curtailing the occurrence of criminal activities. Hence, they believe that the authorities should be held responsible for controlling crime.

However, contrarily, there is a belief that each individual should be cautious and protect himself. They presume, when each person is capable of defending, it increases the risk involved in the crime. Consequently, occurrence of illegal activities can be undermined. Furthermore, it will not be economical to expand the police force proportional to the population and also we have to take the burden off the officials’ shoulders, so that the whole system is can function more effectively. Owing to this, few people consider individuals liable for their security.

Nevertheless, in my opinion, when it comes to repressing the manifestation of crime, it should be a collective accountability of both the public and the government. On the grounds that, police and individuals have their own superiorities over the other, a combined effort is essential for a productive outcome.