Some people think it would be a good idea for schools to teach every young person how to be a good parent.

Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Describe the skills a person needs to be a good parent.

In modern society, it is unquestionable that parents play a major role in their children’s growing process. However, some people believe that it is appropriate for schools to educate young students about the ways of being an effective parent. I disagree the view in some circumstances. The following paragraphs will discuss the view and the essential skills to be a good parent.

It is reasonable to believe that the skills about how to be a well-qualified parent should be learned at schools. First of all, the majority of educators in schools have been a parent and can provide students with precious experience. Additionally, teaching students being a good parent at their early stage also promotes their understanding of how to tackle the domestic problems they will encounter in future.

On the other hand, it is also argued that it is not suitable to learn the skills in advance. Firstly, most teenagers are psychologically immature and incapable of understanding the importance and responsibilities of being a good parent before stepping into the society. Furthermore, schools should emphasize on the theoretical study. Requiring young students to learn the approaches of being a parent could also impose a tremendous strain and emotional burden on their life since it heightens their concerns about the future challenges, and consequently distract them from academic study, resulting in a decline in their academic performance.

In my opinion, to be a qualified parent, an individual must have life skills. Most parents, for instance, should have a decent job and earn a living from their occupation, as affluent families enable their children to acquire various material possessions and have an exhilarating time in their childhood. Moreover, parents should also have a good command of communication skills that allows them to express their opinions explicitly for their children to understand and resolve the disputes between family members.

In conclusion, it is essential for people to obtain the knowledge about being a qualified parent. However, they should learn this skill after completing their studying career.