Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people,

while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate.

Discuss both views and give you own opinion.

Museums are a relatively recent enterprise and the first museums were established in XIX century Europe. Thus the reason for existing museums and their main goals aren’t clear. Some of those who visit them tend to believe that entertainment is a major goal, at the same time, many claim that education may be seen as a chief purpose of museums.

Primarily, those who claim that museums serve to please and to amuse public state that a desire to be entertained is one of the most strong motives of a human being. If museums were not interesting and enjoyable, they would be closed many years ago. Consequently, it is possible to conclude that museums serve to entertain.

Secondly, there are those who visit museums and exhibitions to acquire new knowledge. In fact, visiting such places allows public to witness and to learn new information in a unique way. To illustrate, it is one thing to read about dinosaurs and another to see skeletons of those extinct monsters. Thus museums provide people with knowledge as well.

Finally, although two prospects that have been discussed above may appear to be in conflict, they, in fact, complement each other. Many modern museums across the world have become interactive. For example, Beijing National Museum has developed a game that allowed visitors reconstruct appearance of the creatures whose skeletons are on display. As a result, public get entertained and educated at the same time.

To sum up, many contemporary museums in which new technology is used have become places where visitors many enjoy themselves and acquire knowledge simultaneously.