Some people think that school children need to learn practical skills such as car maintenance or bank account management along with the academic subjects at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, having academic education makes life much easier since it gives people the chance to make a more comfortable living. It is true that an increasing number of people believe that children learn academic subjects at school but not many practical skills. However, I would then disagree that schools should provide some practical skills such as bank account managing or car maintenance.

We live in a knowledge-based economy where independent thinking and problem solving abilities are very important and these capabilities can gain through academic education. Moreover, with timetable almost full, schools have no time for teaching practical skills and overloading them with these subjects will waste their time. To support my claim, I can refer to an article having been published in Time magazine which reveals that up to 60% of social and personal skills can be caught through academic education.

On the other hand, bank account management is a life skill that everyone can learn it just by opening a bank account and most people have no difficulty in managing their finance without any training. In addition, adults take their car to a qualified mechanic who is expert to fix it. It does not seem essential for everyone to know all practical skills such as painting, fixing cars, gardening and etc. If each individual knows these skills there will be no need for plumbers, mechanics, painters and many other vocations.

To sums up, children can learn practical skills in their leisure time if they are interested in them. If they start to teach practical skills, the study of important academic subjects will suffer.