Some people think that success is the best measure of intelligence, while others think that intelligence can be measured in other ways. What is your opinion?

There is a dispute whether the achievement of a higher social status it the most suitable way to evaluate brainpower or if there are other manners to estimate it. I am of the opinion that being successful is not important for everyone. The arguments against and further methods that are available to analyze intelligence I will discuss in this essay.

The most important reason why success is not the right way to assess intelligence is the fact that it is not the only goal, intelligent people want to achieve. In fact, there are other goals such as the pursuit of happiness or the opportunity for self-realization that people, nowadays, are attracted to. A good example for this is the young generation. Statistics have shown that for them leisure time and personal fulfillment is more important than working hard to get a high position at work.

Moreover, brainpower cannot be defined by one parameter due to the fact, that it is composed of several skills, the individual has inherited and/or developed through life. In general, these can be organized in social skills, such as team spirit or the ability to emphasize, and in educational skills, including logical thinking or numeracy. One clear example of a method to evaluate these competencies is the assessment-center that every applicant has to pass through before starting a practical training.

In conclusion, measuring the brainpower by people's success is not the most effective method. In contrast, it is only one goal intelligent people are pursuing in life. Therefore, in my opinion, it is important to assess all the competencies that intelligence consists of.