Is tourism in less developed countries advantage or disadvantage Discuss your views and give your opinion

It is often debated topic whether tourism is needed in less developed countries where livelihood of the citizens is not proper. However, research shows that 40% of a country’s revenue has been piqued when tourism was properly maintained irrespective of the country’s growth. The advantages and disadvantages of this key department will be discussed in this essay.

First of all, tourism department plays a crucial role in a country’s progress. It helps to accelerate the overall progress of the country irrespective of the current development status. For instance, the state of Kerala has about 5.4 million tourists each year and they have enhanced their tourism places in all means. Eventually, the percentage of people visiting Kerala has always been increased year by year. In the year 2017, they report serving 5.8 billion tourists throughout the state. They have comprehensive tourist spots which are suitable for all age groups. They gained 400% profit by investing in tourism in the year 2016. These advantages seemingly precursor our nation’s progress.

On the contrary, spending money on tourism degrades the cultural value. In our country where our cultures are valued and diversified, the tourism may cause unfruitful effects such as the influence of westernized culture, hazardous disease spread such as Flu, increased in prices for rudimentary needs etc. Tourism in the City of Kasi serves as an example for this. Each year during the festival of Mahasivarathiri, nearly 200-300 people are dying due to the overcrowding of the place. This will plateau the value of our nation apparently reducing the development.

To elucidate, even though tourism is one of the main department for a country’s economic growth it has major advantages and disadvantages as discussed in the above points. In my point of view, merits of tourism department overweigh the demerits. We have to focus on tourism by planning for a better infrastructure, welcoming more tourists, marketing across the globe on our cultural places and its importance. It is my hope, the government focuses more on tourism by taking more measures.