A University should accept male and female students equally in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

Quite often people talk about the gender inequality in university education. Should university reserve the equal seats for male and female students in each course? I believe that admission for subjects should be based on merits not on gender reservation. I shall explain why I think like this.

Some people who agree with equal reservation seat in university education have some valid points. To begin with, such arrangement will promote education for women. Except developed countries, women are still struggling for the basic rights and equality. They are not given enough opportunity to study or work. As a consequence, either they do not get enough marks to compete for university education or become diffident to face the challenges. Reserving equal seat for female students will provide opportunity to consider higher education. Furthermore, some of the high employment oriented subjects like computer, communication etc. are still dominated by the male students around the world. As a result, female ratio at workplace is alarming low in these sectors. To reduce such gap, provision to admit same no of male and female students in every subject may work.

However, others believe that admission in university should be based on the merits and qualification. University course are specialized courses and require pre- requisite knowledge to start the study. Non merits candidates both male and female may not be able understand the subject during study. Resulting more drop out from university. In addition, non-availability of particular gender students will cause vacant seats in subjects. It has been seen observed that some of the subjects are not preferred by particular gender. In such scenario, available seats of subject will go waste. Also, such reservation system will create disparity in the education system.

To conclude, giving opportunity to both genders is important. But in higher education, merit should be given the preference over maintaining the gender equality. To promote the equality, government may organize the special preparation classes for both male and female students.