The use of cctv cameras in street, station, shops and other public places has increased rapidly in recent years. Although we are told that these cameras help in the fight against crime, some people are opposed to their use. They believe that everyone has a right to privacy. What are your views?

Different types of crimes are being committed in every part of world and it has become absolutely necessary to prevent these crimes using available means like CCTV, alarms etc. Lately, usage of CCTV has increased in multifolds at various places such as residential, commercial and public. It is considered that these CCTV helps to monitor the situation and solve the crime mystery as well. Even though, some people are against of using these devices at different locations. I shall both viewpoints.

People who do not support the installation of CCTV camera at popular places have some points. At first, people are not warned everywhere that they are under the CCTV surveillance and it gives a chance to camera operator to capture the private talk or action. As a result, people are vulnerable to blackmailing or other social problems. Also, analysis of captured images or video may divulge the trend of individuals or places and accordingly plan can be hatched to trap the person where these monitor devices are not available.

However, majority of people are in favour to use CCTV camera and believe that lots of crimes can be prevented. The primary reason to use CCTV is round the clock monitoring and availability of data for future references. Big shopping malls, stations etc… are heavily relying on the CCTV footage which helps them to find out the exact locations and keep them aware about the latest situation. For example, London tube stations are monitored by CCTV camera and in case of any suspicion; police personnel reach within time and control the situation before getting worse. Another reason is that people have fear of being monitored and hesitate to do any kind of illegal activities where these cameras are installed. For instance, Oxford Street is under surveillance and crime rate is close to null.

In conclusion, CCTV camera is one of the effective ways to monitor the places and it assists the security staff to know what is happening where. Some people may have some reservation because of privacy but I believe that security is more important than individual’s privacy.