We have been living in the nuclear age now for over half a century. Since the first atomic bombs were developed, nuclear technology had provided governments with the ability to totally destroy the planet. Yet the technology has been put to positive use as an energy source and in certain areas of medicine.

To what extent is nuclear technology a danger to life on Earth? What are the benefits and risks associated with this its use?

Nuclear energy is dangerous or beneficial for mankind is still the conflicting topic. Though some people believe that benefits can be drawn from wise use of nuclear energy, even after knowing the scale of destruction it caused in Japan. I think that benefits outweigh the disadvantages in using the nuclear energy.

People who oppose any kind of usage of nuclear energy have some valid reference points. First of all, in 1945 when nuclear bomb was dropped in Japan, resulted mass killing of people, particularly Japanese young men, women and children. This incident still witnesses the gruesome after effect of nuclear energy. Secondly, considering that people would use it for welfare of mankind, it is well known fact that any mistake in dealing with nuclear sources may again cause similar kinds of destruction in world. For example, nuclear substances leakage in Iran killed few people on the spot and proactive action was taken which saved others life.

However, nuclear energy has demonstrated many advantages to the world. The most important one is in the field of medical science. Nowadays, fatal diseases like cancer etc. are cured by the therapy which uses the radioactive rays emanates from nuclear source. These rays not only heal the cancer but also improve the cell life in human body. In addition, it could be the game changer for energy sector. Most of energy in these days are extracted using the fossil fuel such as coal, petroleum etc. which is damaging the environment. Environmentalists often suggest to find the renewable source of energy and strictly advise to not to use the fossil fuel, especially coal which after burning destroy the layers in nature.

To conclude, Nuclear energy has many benefits in field of medicine, producing energy which can provide light in thousands of rural areas in developed or under-developed country. Nevertheless, its use in war can do mass destruction in world.