When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
It is true that some job seekers select their career based on salary level. While I accept that this may suit
many people, I believe that others base their job choice on more important considerations rather than salary
alone.
On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why people should choose a high-paying job. One reason is
that a wage plays an integral part in guaranteeing an acceptable standard of living. Being offered a high salary
allows employees to meet their basic needs, buy a comfortable house and perhaps even go on luxury holidays.
Furthermore, one of the best motivations is a competitive salary. For example, the head of a company may
offer a pay rise to a new employee who is able to achieve a sales target during the year. This rewarding perk
will encourage the new sales staff to try hard and enhance the level of job performance.
On the other hand, job seekers have different reasons apart from salary to choose a job. Firstly, job
satisfaction is extremely important when people choose their career. If a person adores the outdoor life, he will
not be happy being a stockbroker or a financier, no matter that the salaries for both jobs are extremely high.
Secondly, contributing to the community is another reason to consider a job. This could bring about a much
more civilized society. For instance, Mr Kurt a Danishman, who has lived in Vietnam for about 20 years, has
constructed 6 schools and other facilities for disabled children instead of working for the Danish Embassy.
In conclusion, it is certainly true that money can be an important factor for many people when choosing
prospective employment, but this is by no means the key consideration for everybody in making a career decision.