The ability to maintain a small number of friends for a long time is more important to happiness than the ability to make new friends easily.

Since the dawn of humanity, friendship has played a significant role in making people a convenient, delightful and exciting life. people nowadays extend their friendships thanks to the advancements in technology and science, namely, social networks. There is a heated controversy as to whether one should maintain old friends to be happy or they should make new friends to do so. Some people hold the opinion that maintaining old friends bring more happiness than making new friends , while others believe otherwise. I, myself, subscribe to the former groups for quite a few reasons. Two of substantial ones of which are elaborated upon hereunder.

One of the reasons that comes to my mind at first has to do with the fact that Life is replete with ups and down and there exist problems in every humans’ life which are an inevitable part of their life. people usually turn into their old friends in the case of emergencies which plays an important role in making people happy. There is a famous proverb says that” A friend in need is a friend indeed’’ which emphasize the fact that true friends aid us in the time of our needs or dilemmas and make an effort to tackle our problems and resolve them in an excellent fashion. On the other hand, new friends may not help us due to the fact that they might not trust us.

Another equally remarkable point in corroborating my stance for which I have to elaborate is that we have deep understanding of our old friend’s behavior, culture, red lines, likes and dislikes, to name but a few, which help us to share our ideas and enjoy engaging in activities in the company of our old friends. However, it takes long time to get accustomed to our new friends’ entertainments, notions,cultures, to name but three, while old friends have passed these periods. No one can guarantee that meeting new people will lead to a long friendship and become intimate friends. Thus, it is crucial to maintain old friends to live a happy life.

In summary, taken all this into consideration, I have a penchant for maintaining old friendships for the sake of their helpfulness in dilemmas and bringing happiness in doing activities.