The advice from the grandparents is of no use to their grandchildren because the world has changed a lot over the past 50 years.

There are significant differences, including the opinions to the contemporary culture, to the direction of development and career choices, between people of different time periods. However, when it comes to the human nature including our desires and fears, I think it remains constant between different people in different ages. Thus, in my opinion, the advice from grandparents can still bring important benefits to their grandchildren.

Grandchildren will learn their human nature about fears and desires when they face death and survive. A vivid story is always better than moralistic teachings. Since our grandparents have withstood extremely sufferings from wars, their stories will encourage us to stick on life. For example, most of our grandparents have suffered from starvation during the war. They knew exactly the importance of survive in the time of scarce of food. Through learning their stories, we will also show our respect to the life. By realizing their experiences, we will also keep living no matter what social or survival stress we face. Consider present society, it is how ridiculous when the rate of crime and suicide ever increased. If we can learn a lot from our grandparents, we will definitely not commit crime or suicide.

Another benefit that grandparents bring to their grandchildren is how to overcome difficulties in life. Learning about the courage and tenacity of grandparents during the war inspires grandchildren to achieve their goals in daily life. For example, some of elder people during the Second World War have participated in the battle. In other words, they have been soldiers. Through facing the death of their partners and the attack of rivals, they must have their ways to overcome the difficulties in the battle. When their grandchildren apply the similar ways into their daily life to achieve their goals, I believe grandchildren can also have their courage to defeat their rivals in daily life, like the habit of procrastination and inertia. Therefore, grandparents’ vivid stories can also inspire their grandchildren to overcome difficulties in daily life.

In conclusion, since basic human nature has not changed, grandparents’ experiences can still teach us to respect life and overcome difficulties.