Agree or disagree ?

Because the world changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

There are no reasons for us not to enjoy appreciate our lives, no matter whether we are successful or not. That being said, I am of the opinion that people now are not less happy or less satisfied with their lives than they were in the past because of tremendous changes of the world. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, we are living in a peaceful war where people can live an enjoyable life. Under no circumstances could people in the past have been happier that we are now. To put it another way, our ancestors had to withstand and survive numerous wars. Wars forced men of the families to go out on battle fields, many of them didn't have the chance to come back. As a result, it is not likely that families back then could be satisfied with their lives not knowing whether their relatives could survive the war. My grandparents' anecdote is a good example to illustrate this. When my grandfather was around his thirties, the Vietnam war took place, then he was obliged to be a soldier battling on the fields. Not a single day passing by that my grandmother didn't worry about her husband's life. She told me that it was a tough time for her and she couldn't enjoy her life until my grandfather fortunately came back. In contrast, since wars have ended and human rights have been taken more seriously, people now can have a more satisfying life.

Furthermore, the world has undergone many changes, but none more so than the innovation of technology, which makes people's lives much easier. That is to say, mostly every appliances are generated automatically and can work without the need of humans. People nowadays don't have to waste their precious time doing household chores with the advent of top-of-the-shelf technology, such as washing machine, dishwasher, robotic vacuum cleaner, all of which have the capability to work automatically. Moreover, technological innovations have presented our generation with all kinds of entertainment with smartphones, computers or, especially, internet. For instance, my grandmother can have more time for her interests like yoga and travelling because she doesn't need to do strenuous household tasks all day, since she has machines to do it for her.

Owing to all the reasons mentioned above, I truly feel that people nowadays are happier than they were in the past, despite the world changing drastically. This is because the world is a peaceful and harmonious place now and technological innovations have made people lives much easier.