Compare and contrast your way of life with that of your parents. Which way of life do you think would be more satisfying to the future generations?

"Future belongs to the people who create it, not to those who follow behind it." said Hegel, one of a brilliant mind throughout the history of philosophy. Like he said, there is no doubt that the history makes its progress to the better future. The question, however, is that whether to agree or disagree with this thought has sparked spirited debate among people recently. I am, to a huge extent, agree with the statement that the way of life that our generation shares should be more satisfying to our future generation. In the ensuing paragraph, I will try to shed some lights on my perspective through ample examples and conspicuous reasons.

The exquisite point to be mentioned here firstly is that we have less of an absolute poverty rate than before. Though the relative poverty rates are increasing due to the extension usage on the concept of poverty, it is crystal clear that only a few people are actually suffering from what we call starvation. This situation is quite different from our previous generation, whom they often experienced the lack of food to consume.

Another point to be mentioned as a second reason is that people nowadays have more respect to art and culture. I treat art as an essential component of my life, sometimes even more importantly than my financial stability. However, it was obvious to my parents' generation that people had their priority on basic living conditions. This is due to the fact that they generally had less chance of learning about art, music, culture and secondary language. However, various media made people able to access to many contents, which is the reason why we are more literate and affectionate toward cultural aspect.

Although the aforementioned points cross the mind at the first glance, it does not mean that they are the only one. Actually, there is another subtle point which must be borne in mind. It should be noted that the rights of woman in my parents' generation were much worse than now. Although women get paid around 67% of what man gets with the same amount of job right now, it used to be much lower in the 80's. Also, the cognizance about the social acting of women was very conservative in that era. It is distinct fact that more and more people are getting aware of the equality issues.

To make a long story short from the above mentioned points and reasons, one can safely draw a conclusion that the contemporary way of life is much helpful and satisfying for our future generation than that of the previous generation's way of life.