Distance learning and online computer classes should replace classroom learning.

With the advent of internet in last decade or so, distance learning has been on the rise. Infact, many schools have started their own disatance leraning programs to cater to ever increasing number of students. This has provided students access to global education programs from click of a button from the comfort of their homes. I agree that distance learning should replace the traditional classroom learning.

First, students in distance learning get the chance to access education material which might not be able in one's own country. For instance, a college graduate in war torned Bosnia can access to the latest development in a particular field, learn them and apply them to increase his knowledge and make a career. The student just needs to sign up for a distance education classes to start learning to increase his/her global exposure in the subject.

Additionally, distance education doesn't require expensive infrastructure of setting of classes and buildings for an educational institute. One only needs to setup and record the classes once and make incremental updates to the content. The material can then we streamed over the internet for the benifits of thousands of students. The instructurer can use the message boards and email to communciate with the students, pass on handouts, and provide assignment. This saves both money and time, unlike the traditional classroom method which costs millions of dollars in hiring multiple faculty, conducting exams on paper, grading assignments.

Finally, one might argue that with distance learning, doesn't provides the experience of laboratory and distance learning students miss out on the experience of putting the theory into practice in experiments. While, this indeed is a problem of distance education, it can be ironed out by providing the students the opportunity where they can conduct these experiments, close to where they live, like a local university.

Therefore, in my opinion distance learning should replace classroom learning, so that millions of students can get modern university education from the comfort of their living room.