Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children should spend most of their time on studying and playing, and they shouldn’t be required to help family with household chores, such as cleaning and cooking.

Throughout history, parents’ behavior toward their children has been a controversial debt among parents. Some parents may hold the view that children should spend most of their time on studying and playing. However, some others may take an opposite view and believe that children should help their parents with household chores. From my perspective, the second belief is true. In what follows, I will pinpoint the outstanding reasons.

First of all, assigning household chores to children makes them more responsible, because when they are assigned to do something special, they should plan for that and finally they should do them on time regarding the deadline. So, it helps them to do some task’s antecedents on time to meet the parents’ expectations. In addition, I firmly believe that this assignment has great effects on children’s features in the future, and they can accept some responsibilities earlier than the other children. For example, when I was a child, I helped my parents with household chores. After that, when I was a student in high school, I became the mayor of the school. I think it was rooted in my responsibility to do some household chores because after them I became familiar with having a responsibility to do something special.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that assigning household chores helps children to manage themselves when they will be independent. Professor Grey in Berkeley University conducted some research among students who lived in the dormitories. He defined some measures to measure students’ abilities to manage themselves and activities in the dormitories. His results were fantastic and exploratory. He found out students who had done household chores when they were children, were more successful in the dormitories. Also, he mentioned that life for them in the dormitories was easier and more comfortable. After reading this article, I compared myself with my roommates and I found out the results were correct in my country context.

Furthermore, assigning household chores helps children to cope with laziness. Children are usually lazy and obese by getting addicted to television with the lack of physical exercises, and absolutely this assignment helps them to be more active. For example, I have a brother who is two years older than me. My parents did not allow him to do household chores because he was the first child. When he was a child, he was overweight, because his lifestyle was similar to a couch-potato.

Briefly, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to a conclusion that assigning household chores to children helps them to be more responsible and they will live easier in the future. I highly recommend that parents should assign some household chores to children for improving their abilities in the future. By this way, children would be more responsible and they would be able to solve their problem easily in the future, and I believe they will be a successful person in their life careers.