Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: the environmental problem is too complex and cannot be handled by individuals.

As modern society develops, people have an easier life than they did in the past. However, negative sides often comes with the progress. People have to deal with tons of environmental issues.The government and non-governmental organizations encourage individuals to do something good for our mother nature. Some people, however, argue that individuals’ impact is so limited that they cannot handle the problem. As far as I am concerned, small efforts at individual level could go a long way in protecting the environment.

First and foremost, individuals can protect the environment by raising the environmental protection awareness among the youth. It is a really sad story that the majority of teenagers today do not even think about the environment, not to mention fixing it. According to the official statistics released by China Daily, nearly 70 per cent of the youth find it unfashionable to carry cloth bags to market. They prefer poly bags and never hesitate to throw plastics and garbage on the road. Therefore, the first thing individuals can do for our environment is letting themselves know much about the environment, is spring up their urge to be eco-friendly.

Moreover, the ordinary can preserve the mother nature by reducing the use of technological devices. The addiction with these smart devices is absolutely an adversity for people, especially the youth. Diminishing the use of technological devices, laptops, smart phones, iPods and even cars, will not only reduce the electricity and petrol, which is non-renewable resource of energy, but also grant the flower of the country, teenagers, a greater chance of getting back to the nature. If individuals can never hesitate to throw their technological devices at home, they go out and do something good for the environment, like planting trees, picking up the trash on the road. The traffic condition will be better; the limited resource of energy will be saved; the awareness of saving the environment will be lifted up. And the environment will become better and better.

Finally, individuals can protect the environment by launching educational campaigns among themselves, such as the Earth Day, to stress the government to do something for our beloved earth. For example, during the Earth Day 2006 in America, millions of individuals flocked into the road and raised the slogans ”Trees are you. Do not cut them” , “Protect our crying mother earth” and so on, expressing their strong desire to protect the environment toward the government, politicians and businessmen. And after this great campaign, the government did plant more trees for earth and big companies did produce more recyclable and greener products.

In a nutshell, there is no reason to draw the conclusion that the environmental problem is too complex and cannot be handled by individuals.