Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? High schools should allow students to study the courses that students want to study. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Courses, which students study in high school, are very important. Courses contain different subjects which some of the subjects would be essentials and some of them not. Some people believe that high school should allow students to study the courses that students want to study; others disagree. In my view, the courses must be selected by high school for two important reasons, which are elaborated in the following paragraphs.

The first reason is that it might result in more expenses. It is obvious that if high school allowed students to study the courses that students want to study, not only the number of teachers would be increase but also more classes would need. For example, you can imagine my high school that situated in downtown in my city. It had about three thousand students. In addition, it had approximately thirty-five teachers. If the courses selected by students not based on a previous plan that is determine by the high school, what happen. You can assume that students may interest in some courses. But, after three years students interested in some other courses. It would be possible that high school replace all teachers. As you can see, replacing teacher had much expanses.

The second reason is that some courses are hard but very essential and some others very easy but less useful. It is probable that some lazy students tend to the latter one. In fact, although unfortunately it is not ideal, most students may prefer easy courses. For example, in my high school, students in the same major as me, almost all of them did not have any problem with courses which are easy and at the same time not being essential. But many of students could not pass advance courses which were essential to graduate. So if they could select their courses themselves, it would be possible that they would not select hard courses.

To sum up, I completely disagree with the idea that students should allow to study the courses that they want. Not only does it have more expenses for high school but also student may select the easy and unimportant courses. It would be essential to high school select their courses.