Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Reliable and authentic source of information is a fundamental prerequisite for research in any domain. In this case some people rely primarily on printed material like books, journals etc and others prefer internet for their specific content needs. This preferences may vary with the area the research being conducted. However being from an Information Technology background and considering the nature of my work I do prefer internet based contents for my research.

First internet is vast which is also readily available and easily searchable. These three qualities of internet based materials make the research possible to be done in lot less time and with significantly decreased effort and cost. As a result internet is being used as main source of information in the research community. For example, as part of a project during my undergraduate years, we required to make an estimation for computation power of a micro computer to solve a particular problem with a domestic data set. During the initial phase we collected some books, unfortunately, with backdated data considered useless with respect to contemporary hardware dynamics. As many other groups in foreign universities were working on the same problem, their research websites and draft papers published on the internet saved us and finally we could prepare the proportionate estimate and submit the assignment on time.

Secondly complain about the authenticity and correctness of the internet based content is common to all. People argue this due to the open and unregulated nature of publishing adopted by most of the websites today. Nevertheless we are the savior for ourselves here. As most of the open content sharing platform provides a mechanism for content review and rating system. Moreover, contents liked by most of the users are given higher priority than others, this way the right information comes to top very quickly. Anomalies can be found in very recent content, which is neither covered in any printed media as well. Furthermore, there are few platforms ensuring strict reviewing and moderation like online communities IEEE, ICSE and many more. These sites are mainly used by the researchers to publish their works. A panel of specialised group of people moderates the content before publishing. Although these are online communities, people can trust their authenticity resulted by the process known to people.

In conclusion today's dynamic world demands new research every day, required to be catered correctly along with better utilisation of time and budget. And I believe this contradicting requirements can only be served by using information available over the internet. And every research work published on internet will enrich it and initiate a perpetual effect on human advancement which otherwise would have been far more delayed with the decades old printing industry along with its bureaucratic process of publishing.