Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is important to have rules about the types of clothing that people are allowed to wear at work and at school

Of course, few would say that a strict rule about clothing in schools or work places is unnecessary requirement because it can have a negative influence on students or employees, such as a source of stress. From my view, however, we cannot ignore advantages of uniform, encouraging workers’ safety and improving students’ academic performance.

To begin, it is undeniable that safety at work should be provided people when they are working. When it comes to sloppy conditions in workplace, it can result to injuries of employees. It is possible that the employees make mistakes, however, the company has more responsible for these situations because it cannot provide them with safety circumstances. For instance, an employee who works at a manufacturing factory, there are several possibilities that the worker can be injured by an automatic machine with his unsuitable clothes. Thus, a rule of wearing safe clothes should be required to every employees. This shows that we cannot underestimate the importance of a requirements of clothing, especially at work places.

Furthermore, offering a uniformed clothing to students can play a vital role in promoting students’ academic performances. Admittedly, there are several distractions to prevent students from focusing on their studying when schools allow them to wear what they want. Otherwise, if they do not have to concern about clothing, it can result to an improvement of their concentrations in studying. According to a survey conducted by a team of researchers at Harvard University, the surveyed students who wear their clothes in school without any constraint mentioned that they spend lots of time to select their clothes in every morning. The survey also found that when students were prohibited from selecting their clothes, their concentration improved by twenty percent, and they performed better in exams than they were allowed to select clothes freely.

To sum, despite of the benefit of wearing clothes freely, both increasing of safety at work places and enhancing of students’ academic performance tell us that a rule of wearing adequately clothes at work and school should be required.