do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

it is more important to keep you old friends than it is to make new friends.

use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In the modern era which is often named information age, communication became more and more complicated. due to this complexity, human beings are able to make new connections and friendships through different tasks they do every day. A question which is often raised regarding this subject is whether keeping old friends takes precedence over making new ones or not. As it is a moot point, there might not be a general agreement on this topic; however, personally, I rest on the belief that it is crucial for one to stay connected with his old friends. In the following, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons to delineate my perspective.

the first exquisite point to be mentioned is that, trust is the most priceless advantage that lead one to be in touch with an individual. Broadly speaking, with the passage of time, a boundary of trust is built between two friends that is somehow unimaginable with new people. To elucidate more, throughout everyone's life, there are some embarrassing situations which they need to be shared with a reliable person and an old friend is the first option that comes to the mind. To shed more light on this topic, one can refer to some studies in psychology corroborating the amount of time a friendship lasts has a positive correlation with the intimacy and trust both-side feel.

Also, it cannot go unnoticed that, as human beings grow older it gets harder for them to communicate with new people. On the other hand, in the young ages there are abundant opportunities to become familiar with people and built a friendship than there is in adolescent. Another reason that could be taken into consideration is the fact that in adolescent the personality is well-developed and it does not get accustomed to other personality as easy as before in their young ages. However, there might be some exceptions and these are some people that their characters are analogous, but they happened to meet each other in adolescent.

In the light of the reasons explained, I am on conviction that it is crucial to be in touch with old friends, because not only they are more reliable, but also it is much easier than making new friends which may bother you with their personality. Consequently, it is highly recommended for people to maintain the relationships with their old friends whom they proved to be in the hardest time of one’s life.