Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People are never satisfied with what they have; they always want something more or something different. Use specific reasons to support your answer.

I totally agree with the statement “People are never satisfied with what they; they always want something more or something different”. As we can see from the famous idiom “Human needs are endless” or theory like “Maslow hierarchy of need”. These can answer the question clearly. I will elaborate more about the topic throughout the following paragraphs.

First of all, the needs of human vary depending on their ages. As the babies, they just have the basic need like food. They can actually live without clothes. When they grow up, as kids, they have to go to school and to be the part of the society. So, they begin to need more and to be like others. For example, when kids see their friends have cool toys they want that toys and ask their parents to buy for them. Moreover, as the teenagers, people tend to follow the trend and are into fashion. Especially girls, they usually change clothes and buy new ones almost every week. Sometime they forget they bought the clothes and never wear them. Furthermore, as the adults, people require more and more to fulfill themselves and can’t stop seeking for the better things for themselves. For instance, the current US president, Donald Trump, he is the billionaire before he gets elected. Many people may think that he can live and do nothing till he dies. Yes, he can do that but as mentioned before “Human needs are endless”. He has money but he still wants to have power.

In addition to human need during growing up period, there is a strange case for people who are religious. For this characteristic, people are likely to abandon the outside world and only focus on religion and their god. If we look on the surface, we will think that these people satisfy what they have and what they are doing but if we investigate deeply, we will realize that they are not happy in their life and are finding the way out. They go to the temple, church or mosque to pray meditating and being with themselves to find out what they really need in their life. Even the monk or priest, they found that their former life in the outside world couldn’t answer their meaning of life. Therefore, they follow the god way.

From the aforementioned above, it can be said that people are always finding the better things and never satisfied with what they have. Some only want the basic need. Some want more. Some want more and more. All in all, everyone always wants something.