Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People who have learned many different skills are more likely to succeed than those who focus on learning only one skill.

Form the broad perspective, in the current state of affairs we face, in which fierce competition become an integral part of the people's daily life, it is not far-fetched to presume that the path of success is closely associated with the individuals' approach in terms of treating with the matter of competition. However, whether having a wide array of skills instead of concentration on developing merely one particular ability plays useful role to that end is considered as a contentious issue. There is a growing segment of people who contend that the aforementioned mindset brings a variety of advantages for people. I personally repudiate this idea and in the ensuing paragraph, the rationale behind this opinion will be further elaborated.

First and foremost, the nature of modern jobs requires specific features. There is no denying to the point that by passing the time the jobs become more and more specialized. Indeed, companies are seeking for the employees who acquire certain skill in specific filed. Take an accounting as a career existing for at least two hundred years. Previously, accountants did all the financial tasks of the companies, from book keeping to preparing the financial statement or the tax reports. Conversely, nowadays, this simple job has been divided to rather broad branches in a way that the account receivable accountant does not allowed to do the duties assigned to tax officer. Admittedly, both narrowing the jobs into sub-categories and inclining the employers for recruiting professional personnel hinder people to get acquainted with various aspect of specific job. Therefore, having followed one skill, canny people stand a pretty good chance in their job.

Another vital point which should be taken into consideration is the limited time. Undoubtedly, whenever the issue of learning the skill comes into the debate, time has been accounted as the restrained factor. In fact, time has restricted the human options and imposed to make the decision based on the available choices. According to this issue that so time-consuming is the process of learning that it render individuals to concentrate on a certain skill in great depth. According to the latest research attributing to DR. Kevin Russ, a prominent and highly respected professor in Department of Sociology in Macquarie University, the sooner students choose their final filed, the more plausible to find the decent job or apprenticeship after the graduation. This probe provides further legitimacy for the idea that getting involved in a particular skill raise the opportunity to become prosperous in the future.

In this circumstance, it is more judicious to say that by picking up diverse skill people pass up their chance to achieve their intended targets. Not only does not this approach meet the companies' requirements, but also it is not applicable due to time constraint.