Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing games teaches us about life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

While games nowadays become more and more popular among kids and teenagers, many people complain that those players are just wasting their time playing games because the games contribute no value to the players. I, however, believe that the players will learn several facets from experiencing the games. In this essay, I will discuss reasons and example to support my viewpoint.

To begin with, while playing game, people learn to become a part of a team. Most of the online games nowadays motivate player to interact and work together with other people. In order to achieve the game’s goals, player will have to discuss, support, and be kind to stranger and friends that they met in game’s communities. In this environments, some players will even have an opportunity to take a role as a leader in which they will gradually cultivate real management skills that are not easily be acquired in other situations during young ages.

Second, games give people the feeling of competition. Even though the games motivate people to formulate a good team work, the major purpose of a team is to compete with and win against others teams. The intense feeling of competition in games teach player about the happiness of success and the uncomfortable feeling of being beaten. While, in real life, people usually lose or relinquish some important opportunities of their life when they are beaten, people do not really lose that much when lose in a game as it is a safe environment to learn about the competition.

Third, games encourage players to engage with strategic planning in order to achieve goals. During the games, player will have to plan about their next actions, predict the possible outcomes, and adjust their plans according to the unexpected situations. This game’s environment will hone the player’s skills of scientific thinking and problem solving in which are surely useful in real life situations. In real life circumstance, people are all required to make a strategic plan and perform according to it in order to advance in career.

In conclusion, games educate people some vital aspects of life. They teach people about social ability and leadership, competition, and scientific planning. Without game, those aspects can still be learned in real life but it might come with an unbearable cost.