Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The private car has brought more harm than benefits to the planet. Use reasons and specific examples to support your opinion.

Car has become major transportation vehicles since a long time ago. Growing economy and increasing purchasing power have made more people capable to own a private car. Although it positively contributes to human mobilization and economic development, some people argue that it is hazardous for the environment. However, considering some other valuable benefits to the environment, I think private car should not be viewed as threats.

Own a private car means people has higher degree of flexibility. It helps many families to travel more convenient. They can bring all their family members in a car and then go to their favorite place on weekend. Private car has unlimited route destination. A couple could travel to far suburb locations without worrying about switching different mass transport service. Time restriction is not a problem for private car. People who own a private car would not worry about left behind of bus schedule in the morning.

Private car is also an important factor in economic development. With more people own a private car, chain-effects would occur in several business sectors. Gas station, repair shop, parking space and car wash are some businesses that would be benefit from the supply of private cars. It also supports people in make a living. Home-business owners might be able to deliver their products faster and more efficiently to consumers.

Compared to many years ago, there have been some serious efforts to reduce the negative impacts from cars to environment. Many automobile manufacturers produce cars with lower emission level. This would reduce pollution in the ecosystem. City government also helps to build greener environment. They build parks and plan trees that would help to balance the air pollution from gas emission.

In conclusion, private car should not be viewed as a threat, rather a technological advancement that brings many substantial benefits. It contributes not only to mobilization aspect but also business growth. Although it is true private car produces negative substances, it is still reasonably can be accepted by the environment as many stakeholders show efforts to reduce such impacts.