Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Telephones and email have made communication between people less personal. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

With the advent of industrial and technological revolution over the past few decades, our world has become inundated with machines and digital devices , which have made our lives comfortable and less laborious. Telephone and email are also the result of technological advancement and innovation. Over the years telephone have gradually given way to wireless networks and mobile phones, which have proliferated rapidly in the market in the last few decades. Also, breakthroughs achieved in field of internet have also led to the widespread use of emails as a prominent and effective means of communication. Some people argue that these devices have made the communication between people less people, as people are reluctant to visit personally to their acquaintances and are satisfied with telephonic conversation or email chats.

This according to them has diminished the strength of personal bonding, which once existed among people. But in reality, telephone and other new modes of communication have not deteriorated the personal bonding, rather they have strengthened the bonding among people and have enabled the people to stay in touch with a large number of people.

For example, a family member who is employed outside his or her home town, can now stay in touch with his or her family through telephone and email. Unlike in past, when people working away from their home, had to rush to the public telephone booths or have to resort to slow and ineffective means of communication like letter, telegram, postcard etc. Also frequency of communication among people was also very less due to the non- availability of sufficient number of telephone booths and tardy postal network. But today, thanks to the digital devices like mobile phones and emails, one can easily and frequently stay in touch with other people and can have assurance of the well- being of their close relatives.

Another aspect of the emails, which has had a positive impact in keeping the bond between people more cohesive and personal, is its feature which allows people to share pictures, videos, important files etc. Today, people frequently share important documents and photographs of personal events like birthdays, marriages etc. This helps people to be cognizant of important events, progress and well- being of their close friends. Another feature of email is video calling; people can now talk with a virtual physical presence of other person in front of them. All these have helped in strengthening the personal bonding between people.

To conclude, telephone and email have had a positive influence in ensuring people stay in touch more frequently with their fellow friends, relatives and family members. Although, the personal visits and one on one interaction have reduced over the years, but these devices have allowed people to develop and nurture and sustain amicable relationships with their acquaintances.