Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Whether sports and social activities are equal to academic courses? When people encounter to this question, they answer differently according to their personal characteristics, educational background and various sights. But when it comes to me, I personally agree to this idea to some extent that university should pay attention to sports and social activities as well as education system. I will try to explain my position more clearly as follows.

First, university should consider not only training system to teach various scientific and academic subjects, but also they should aware toward physical and mental health of students. It is so vital and necessary. Iranian people have a proverb; only healthy people can decide correctly. Therefore, it should be noticed students can learn courses with high efficiency, while they have perfect mental and physical bodies. People go to gym to exercise not only to be fitness, but also they want to release from high pressure of life during days and weeks. It goes without saying that studying in the university is so hard and it creates large amount of stress and one of the primary ways to relinquish and discard of this stress, is exercise and sport. If students can access to well-equipped gyms, surely most of them exercise.

There is another subtle point we must consider. Since students are young and they do not have experiences very much, one of the duties of university is learning how to interact with other people. Interaction with people is always a challenge. Human is a social creator and he cannot be independence and he always needs other people. With considering this fact, students should be taught by universities’ stuff. So universities should invest some budget to regarding this issue to create and produce some social events such as parties, national ceremonies and various conferences. Last but not the least, when students (especially fresh students) in the universities have several selections like various courses and social events they put themselves in these situations to discover their talents and intelligence. It is obvious that all of the people cannot afford high cost of membership in gyms, thus students in poor families does not participate in gym and other social events and it is plausible their talents in mentioned grounds will be wasted.

However, one should not neglect that universities should aware of this important reason that the first and the most important goal of entering university is learning academic subjects and it has to be one of the first priorities of university. Students can find gyms and social event even in out of university but they cannot find academic courses and great libraries elsewhere.

To cap it all, taking into account of all this factors we may reach the conclusion that sports and social activities are so important and university must consider this importance and allocate noticeable amount of money to them but in the way that the original goals of university that are training academic courses should not be ignored.