Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Projects play an important role in most of students' life. Most students have a lot of projects that they have to work on each year either alone or with a group. Some people think that it is more effective that students work together on their assignment projects, others do not. Personally, I completely agree that students have to work together in doing their projects for two important reasons.

First of all, working in a group save time that gives students chance to collect all the information they need. Most projects need a lot of time to collect data and the information they want to work with. Therefore having more than one member will make it easy to gather all what students need in less time. For instance, I remembered when I was in high school and I had to finish a science project. It took me a lot of time to search everywhere to collect the data I needed and then to organize it. After that I had to type and print it. Thus it took me a lot of time and effort to finish it. On the other hand, my middle school boy sometimes works with others in their projects. They just divide the work between each one, so they have enough time to collect all the information they need with little effort and then gather it together. Thus, they usually finish more quickly. As you can see, there is a big difference between working alone or in a group.

Moreover, working in group gives students the chance to exchange information. Each student has his own thinking and has a different point of view. Therefore, when they have a chance to work together in their projects, they will exchange their ideas and will collect a lot of information which sometimes, may be new to them. For example, one day my middle school kid, who I mentioned before, told me about his robotic new class. He explained to me that they have to work in groups and think together to make a robot. He was very excited from the knowledge he gained and a lot of new ideas he learned when he worked with his group. At that point, I really appreciate how it is a very good idea that students work together.

All in all, students learn more when they work together. Not only because they will have time to collect all the information they need, but they also will have a chance to exchange their ideas and gain more knowledge. Thus, teachers must give their students this chance whenever it is possible.