Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

From a broad perspective, in the current state of affairs we face, in which so complicated is the relationships that the communication among people has entirely changed, it is not far-fetched to presume that family relations cannot be excluded from this list. However, whether this complexity renders the juveniles more independent is considered as a contentious issue. There is a growing segment of people who contend that youths were more relied on their parents previously. I personally concur with this idea, and in the ensuing paragraph the rationale behind this statement will be further elaborated.

First and foremost, young people become more knowledgeable. There is no denying the fact that education plays paramount role in order to develop the sense of independence. According to the latest research attributing to Dr. Kevin Rude, a prominent and highly respected professor in the Department of Demography at the Macquarie University, the number of literate people has soared dramatically. His probe revealed that peak educated people rate reached 65% in 2016 which had a 30% growth relative to the last decade. These figures provide further legitimacy in order to demonstrate that modern society witnesses well-informed citizens who incline to build their lives based on their capabilities. Undoubtedly, having earned more knowledge, young people, as the next generation, find an unlimited access to wide array of information allowing them choose their own path without relying on the parents.

Another vital point which should be taken into consideration is that the structure of family has altered. Needless to say that in comparison to the past, families are reluctant to live in an extended form. Actually, due to fierce inter-connected relationships within the family members, children, to a great extent, were reliance on their family. Inherited job is an evident instance for such this connection which determine to what extent individuals were hindered to peruse their interests As a matter of fact, if the family members had not cooperated with each other, they would not have survived and this story made them inseparable. On the contrary, children in this era of time usually live in families that both their parents work and they have no other choice but learning how to deal with plethora of people from an early ages, from mundane daily issues to serious financial subjects. Under such circumstances, it comes as no surprise that juveniles opt to live separately as of they become 18 years old.

To wrap it up, it is more judicious to say that the more time passes, the more young people desire to become independent. This issue occurs not only owing to increasing the level of wisdom and knowledge, but also because of the revolution in family structure.