Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Every single one of us at one point will certainly need to choose a job. It is in fact, one the most inticate and important choices that one has to make. Not only will it determine how much wealth a person earns but also is influential in the rest of his/her life. In my view, it is more expedient for children to opt a career that is similiar to what their parents had done. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in following essay.

To begin with, through years of time they spend being involved in a job or having the same responsiblity, parents have acuired a great deal of valuable experience and knowledge. To be more specific, their expertise which is crucial for their children progress in their career, can be readily transferred to them. For instance, my father worked at several newspapers for 20 years.From being a freelance writer to taking the huge burden of being a chief editor of a renowned journal, He served in various capacities. As a result, he had gained an accumulated know-how that was second to none in his own field. He was nominated for numerous awards in journalism and was declared the best editor of a newspaper in our country for two consequitive years. When I finished college, I decided to pursue what my father did. Having him alongside me and learning all the nuances of the art of writing articles allowed me to be employed by one the most prestigious news organizations active where I live and distinguishing myself among my colleagues.

Secondly, In addition to experience, over the years of working in a job, people establish a set of relationships or rapport which their offsprings can easily get connected to. This, in turn, will save them time that otherwise was needed to build these connections while enabling them to allocate their most precious resource to things more. An experience of my uncle is a good example of this. When he began to work in his father's real estate office, he barely knew anyone in the industry. Therefore, it was extremely difficult for him or any other newcomer for that matter, to earn the trust of investors so as to borrow some money for initiating a new construction project. Nonetheless, since his father was an eminent builder with whom many had financial dealings, he soon manged to use his father perfect credit rating, and getting a large sum of money as loans for starting a series of apartments in the suburbs. This venture turned out to be a massive success, earning him a lot of reputation and profits.

In conclusion, I think that it is crucial children be allowed to choose a job that is similar to their parent's.