Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is an ongoing controversy about whether students should concentrate on knowing idea and concepts or focus on studying facts. Some people encourage children to remember ton of facts, claiming that this way of teaching build basic background for students. In my opinion, even though facts are crucial, I strongly support children to understand concepts first, because knowing the schemes is beneficial to students for several reasons.

First, the students will know exactly what information they have to obtain, if they understand the concept of lessons well. Nowadays, people live in the digital era, which tremendous information and fact can be accessed anywhere and anytime. To prevent students from being lost in the load of data, they should know the outline of the course closely so that they can target the precise data to strengthen their comprehension. For instance, during my high school, I learned about local history of my hometown, which I had to write a paper as an assignment. I did not understand clearly about the concept of the history that I should write, so I ended up wasting two weeks gathering load of detailed information that I did not need. Thus, knowing the overall idea can save time of students and lead to better understanding in the lesson.

Second, idea can broaden scope of knowledge for many people, bringing valuable innovation to the world. Human cannot create something new if they stuck with existing facts, such as the fact that people used to believe that the world is flat. In contrast, comprehending the concept brings people to something new and useful. For example, Isaac Newton, one of the great scientist of the world, learnt the concept of movement of any object, which needs the force to create motion. Finally, by seeing apples falling from trees, he realized that there is gravity force. Clearly, concept plays significant role in many areas and should be focused by any learner.

In conclusion, students should concentrate on ideas and concepts to create clear comprehension of what they learn, because these help students to be able to scope their focus on only information they need. Moreover, instead of simply believing current knowledge and information, ideas can bring precious innovation to the world.