Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Education is a very important step in any carrier, so it should be taken very seriously. Students should be able to understand ideas and concepts but also to learn new facts. However, in my opinion it is more important to understand ideas and concepts. In the following paragraphs I will try to give some reasons and examples to support my opinion.

First of all understanding ideas and concepts can help the students to make connections between what they learn previously and the new information. For instance the student can see the difference between theory and practice. For example in a chemistry class: the student understands the concept of a chemical reaction easier if the teacher will let them do an experiment. A "hands on activity"will always help the students visualize and understand the concept easier. For example: by adding the 2 substances they will see the change in volume and color.

Second af all this method of learning will engage the students to use their critical thinking and their imagination. In almost any carrier critical thinking is valuable. Like someone said "if you want to learn, nobody can stop you".

Last but not least, understanding ideas and concepts can help a student to discover new things. Making connection between the old and new information, using the logic and developing new ideas can easily convert in something great- a new concept.

In conclusion, understanding ideas and concept can help a student not only making connection between theory and practice, engage their critical thinking and discovering new concepts but also in their future carrier.