Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to understand ideas and concepts than to learn facts.

Knowledge acquisition has been an appealing topic in our modern society. It is commonly argued that it is more vital to understand general ideas of each subject than to concentrate in new facts. In my personal viewpoint, I disapprove of this argument.

In the first place, what I put in my priority is life need. It cannot be denied that learning facts are likely to help students acquire a range of knowledge in the subject. As a result, they tend to perform better in their future job. For example, my aunt is a successful and well-paid engineer as she knows how to fix numerous machines. This is because in her college, she was very intrigued in studying a wide range of detailed knowledge about her major, physics. These facts undoubtedly is one of the main factors for her success. More importantly, facts account for a lot of point in tests in colleges nowadays. Indeed, students are required to remember facts in their books or from other resources to duel with the tests. Therefore, the more facts they remember, the greater academic performance they acquire. With no doubt, it is extremely useful if one remembers and applies facts into their works and studies.

In the second place, personally enjoyment holds no less importance. The fact is that concentrating in learning facts, students need to remember a lot of knowledge including times, methods, processes, etc. As a consequence, they necessarily look for effective ways to remember these information. This leads them to look up or ask others for the best methods of remembering. The more they discover and apply these methods, the better remembering ability they gain. More amazingly, factual information is what people can show to others. For instance, when they talk with their friends, they might use their knowledge to prove their points. Besides, they may use their various factual knowledge to help their teams enhance the products. To sum up, knowing a tons of facts, people may be admired by others.

On the other hand, some people may insist that learners will not be able to understand subjects thoroughly if they pay more attention to details. As a result, their background understanding tends to be destroyed. However, this is not necessarily the case as students are not required to study that much about ideas to understand them. Hence, they certainly spend more time on facts. Furthermore, learning a great deal of factual knowledge, the questions what is the subject for, why we have this, etc may naturally evoke. To understand that, they need to form some possible ideas and then decide whether they are correct. They may inevitably fail in some of these efforts, and it takes them much time to self-understand the concepts of the subjects. However, once they understand, they will be the master in that themes. By and large, the opposing opinions may end in collapse.

In conclusion, practical value, personal satisfaction, and stronger background knowledge are convincing reasons for my disapproval. It is strongly recommended that educationalists as well as students worldwide should take my writing into detailed consideration to come up with appropriate decisions.