Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

It is a highly debated issue whether or not it is more important to keep your old friends that it to make new friends, and this topic can be approached from several angles due to its complexity. While some people tend to think that it is important to work on your old friendship rather than making new ones. Others seem to disagree with it. Deeply deliberating over the issue, I totally agree with the statement, and the following discussion reveals my stand and reasoning.

To begin with, we get along easily with our old friends than we do with a new one. For example, one of my old friends, her name is Ban, I know her for a long time ago. We attended the same high school together before twenty years, and our friendship continued since then. We are the best friends ever, nobody could take her space in my life. We used to get out each weekend to do shopping or just walking in malls. But whatever we do, we always do it without arguing or questioning, we simply enjoy our times together. As you could see, a new friends will need more effort to understand him and to get along with him.

Second, old friends know everything about each other. For instance, Sally is one of my best old friends that I have. She used to be my neighbor, when I was living in Iraq. We know each other since long time and we kept in touch even after I moved to live in the U.S. She know everything about me and so do I. Last year, she didn’t call me for an entire week, I was so worried about her because the civil war in my native country Iraq and she was living there. Her entire family lived in different country, so, I tried first to send her many messages and gave her many calls without any response. So, because I know everything about her, I was able to contact the police and giving them all her information. Then what happened was that, a killer was hiding in her house and he was taking her as a hostage. Without my help, she would be killed before anybody notices. From my personal experience I could say that, old friends are the best ones.

In conclusion, I believe that it is more important to keep the old friend than to make new one. Not only is it easy to get along with old friends. But also old friend know everything about each other. That’s why we should put more effort to keep our friendship with the old friends.