Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

For the last couple of decades, computer games have become increasingly popular. Indeed, its popularity is greater among the younger generations and the preocupation over its effects, as they are on highly delicate stages of development, has become a daily subject. In particular, some people think that allowing children to play computers is a waste of time and may say that playing computer games don’t allow children to develop adequately in vital aspects such as physical, social and academical.

As far as I know, there has been an increase in violence and antisocial behaviors coming from children and adolescents that spent much of their time playing computer games. Because computers can’t mimic human interaction, children that play too long with computers instead of playing with other children may suffer a detriment on their social development; which, moreover, could have greater consequences into adulthood.

In the same way, spending too much time playing computer games could also have negative effects in the physical development of the youngsters, because staying sitted on a chair does not do much for building muscles or improving the posture. Particularly, when I was little, our pediatrician always told our mother that kids should practice sports and not spend too much time sitting watching tv or playing with the computer. In fact, his arguments were that, by practicing some sports or just playing in the garden with friends and neigbours, kids could develop better not only physically, but also socially.

Furthermore, during childhood is the period when people learn the most. What could be learned from sitting on a computer all day long, playing computer games? Time wasted on that could be spent developping life skills, studying, learning a new languaje, discipline or how to play an instrument. It doesn’t necessarily has to be studying, even from playing with another children, kids could live invaluable experiences!

In conclusion, I must say that children should not be allowed to play computer games for extended periods of time, as I believe that it is truly a waste of time and does not do anything for the kid’s development in areas such as social, physical and academical, which are critical development areas. In fact, I believe that when a child is allowed to play computer games without control, it could have negative consecuences over the years.