do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

playing computer games is a waste of time. children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It has long been a hot controversy among parents that of the two options of allowing children to play video games or restricting them which one is more preferable. Answering to this question is imperative, as it deals with children which are precious for parents.

I believe computer games have merits and demerits, however when it comes to me, I think computer games have more benefits than harms.

Just as the English proverb goes "a coin has two sides" those who take the opposite view are partially reasonable.

The first plain reason for my propensity is that computer games can enhance the development of minds for young children. According to a research which was conducted by one of the most reputable universities of my country, those who continuously play video games have better scores in school. For instance, I have a nephew who is very smart, and I think the computer games has sharpened, broadened and deepened his perception and knowledge.

The second reason that I should mention is that parents should not ban the children from playing computer games, as it is an unstoppable phenomenon, therefore prohibiting it may even have some bad circumstances for children and even parents. A prime example from my own experience may shed some light to this point, I remember when I was in elementary school and I had a game console. I was expected to play with this console on weekends, but my parent only allowed me to play once in a month, which led me to a point that I was playing covertly every day. I played very much video games covertly it harmed my school courses. The key point for this phenomenon is that the parents should manage time properly.

Last, but not the least, parents can use the computer games as a reward for children. For example, improving the learning process in school is of the essence for most of the parents, therefore, they can let the children play when they have a good score in the exams.

To conclude, considering the above reasons, parents should not ban the children from computer games, as computer games can serve as a catalyst for improving different abilities in the school.