Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When it comes to question whether teacher were more respected by society rather than now, everybody has its own perspective depends on his/her experiences, observations, etc. From my viewpoint, given societies has been changed by several factors, teacher has not their previous appreciation among people. I will detail my reasoning as follows.

First, the most critical reason is teachers' salary. In past, teachers' wage were equal or higher than average income of other society members which enabled them to have a good life condition. But now, as other jobs' income like engineers, traders, and typical employees increased significantly, teachers' wage level did not changed as others. This comes important when we see that people usually judge and appreciate others based on their financial situation. Therefore, given that teaching has stood as one jobs with the lowest payment in the society, they are not as appreciated as past.

Second, teachers' social position among people has weakened. In past, people respected teachers because many of society members were illiterate. They considered teachers as individuals who were knowledgeable and worthy to respect. However, by conducting several programs to decrease illiteracy rate, many people can read and write and some of them have higher scientific and executive positions in comparison to teachers. I past, for example, teachers could be hired when they graduated from bachelor which many people were unable to got such degree, so, many people eager to be a teacher. Nevertheless, universities are full of graduate and postgraduate students who are more inclined to receive prestigious job positions with higher social positions.

Third and last, as a counterargument, some people may think that teachers are appreciated by others due to the fact that they help in development of our children. On the contrary, I know many persons that prefer to teach their children by themselves not by sending them to schools. They believe that schools are not good place for children because our educational system is not efficient and we hear about students that do a lot of crimes like drug abusing, using gun in schools, etc. So, as schools are not appreciated by parents, consequently, teachers will not be valued by society as a member and employee of schools.

In all, despite the fact that teachers are valued and respected by society, as a parent I feel that their position in society is in danger. I believe that governments should rehabilitate teachers' social image in society. If they don't do that, our society would experience a serious educational and ethical problem in near future.