Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Today, most of the people have different political or social views. Teachers, as a part of a society, may have controversial political views. Some of the people believe that teachers should not state their own opinions about social or political matters in the classroom. While others not, because they think that it will increase the student's ability to correct their fallacious polictical and social views. Personally, I believe that they shouldn't say these opinions in the classroom and there are three reasons to support this idea.

First, the incorrect opinions may negatively affect the students. If a teacher impose his/her opinions to the student, they may make incorrect decisions. For example, my professor, who was an expert in water resource engineering and management, always told his students to leave Iran and continue their studies abroad because the water shortage in Iran can't be controlled in the future and they can't resolve water crisis in Iran. As a result of this incorrect opinion, many elite students in water resource management left the country to study abroad and they never came back to the country. Nowadays, Iran is suffering the severe lack of water resource engineers and there are not enough experts to cope with the current water banckruptcy in Iran. If my professor didn't talk about his own opinion, many of these students wouldn't leave the country. Therefore, a teacher should not express their own views to the students.

Second, class is not a good place to talk about personal social or political views. When a teacher talks about controversial topics in the classroom, it will affect the efficiency of class and the students won't learn anything useful. For example, there was a chemistry teacher in my high school in Tehran and he always talked about his own controversial political views. While these debates wasted the time of our class and we nearly didn't learn anything about acids and bases or hydrocarbons because there was not enough time for the teacher to teach. Hence, talking about the personal opinions is just a waste of time and will not help the students.

Third, a teacher should be objective in dealing with social and political matters. If a teacher talks about his own opinions, which they are perhaps quite biased, many of the students will be unhappy with this situation. For example, if a teacher advocates the A person in a political race and the students supports the B person, there will be a conflict in the class all the time. Therefore, this situation may affect negatively both the students and the teacher and will transform the classroom into an unfavorable place. Furthermore, it may affect the grades of a student. For instance, I had a mathematics teacher in high school and there was a conflict in political views between the students and the teacher. He supports the republican politicians, while most of the students support the democrate politicians except two students. After we took final exams, the teacher announced the grades and those two students got A+ grade while those students was really weak in mathematics. Because they agreed with the teacher's personal opinions, they got a good grade. Thus, a teacher should not express his own views in the classroom.

In sum, it is not good for a teacher to state his/her political or social views to the students. Not only for negative results on the students, but for the waste of the time due to the long debates in the classroom.