Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

From the dawn of humanity, young people choose someone to be their role model in life. With this is mind, a fierce controversy exists as to whether or not celebrities are more important to younger people than the older ones. As far as I am concerned, it is crystal clear that celebrities plays a significant rule in young-aged people for some pivotal reasons, two of which are of great importance in comparison to others, which are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, older people are less likely to follow any "herd-mentality", although some celebrities can have some good opinions about several subjects, it is more prevalent that they will have less knowledge for many subjects to have a correct opinion. On the other hand, the younger people usually admire a celebrity too much that they follow any opinion they give in any field, sometimes not even related to their knowledge or talent. Additionally, they look up to the celebrities they like because they want to be like them, as the celebrities are famous, wealthy, and beautiful to the young society. For example, when a political election is ahead, politicians try to get well-known celebrities to back up them so that the younger fans of this particular celebrity will vote to this politician too. Statistics demonstrate that when a politician have the support of a celebrity -- that is -- a very famous one, substantially have more chance to won the election.

Hence, the younger people seem to follow their opinions in various types of events.

Secondly, the youth have far less information about the things that are occurring around them. Therefore, it is possible, not knowing the essential information about the subject, they just follow the opinion of the celebrity blindly. In contrast, the old ones have more experiences through their lives and are far-sighted, well-read people who cannot blindly stands to the idea that are not based on their knowledge, so much so that they will follow a celebrity just for his or her talent rather than their opinions.

To sum up, by taking into account all the above mentioned factors, we reach the conclusion that celebrities, to be more specific: their opinions, are more important to the younger age of the society as compared to the old ones. I strongly hope that the celebrities not take this opportunity for granted and will share "only" their strong opinions to their fans so that they would choose promptly too.