Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The rapid development of science and technology has brought us various new inventions that afford us entertainment and pleasure, among which cell phones, online games and social networking Website may be several of the most representatives. There is no denying that these inventions have posed a threat to educating children. Consequently, educating kids is more challenging today than it was in the past because of increasing time spent on these stuffs.

For one thing, a large number of on-line games and social websites are initially accompanied by something improper, such as violence, sex and so on, which threatens children’s mental health, thus making it harder for their parents to educate them. It is well known that environment are able to reshape the outlook of people, especially the innocent kids. Last week when I chatted on the phone with a high school student of mine, who is currently living in Canada, he mentioned that two months ago, as he memorized quite clearly, a nineteen-year-old boy on his campus committed a bloody murder by imitating the plots from “Warcraft 3”. What a lesson we can learn from the tragedy! Were it not for the online game he played, he could have grown up in to a well-behaved adult. In addition, according to an online survey conducted by the China Daily, more than 70% of the parents admit that their children get into at least three bad habits since their kids started wasting time in online games.

For another, children can find themselves harder to concentrate their minds after long-time chatting on cell phone or social website. Physiologically, children are more prone to get detracted than adults due to their less developed brain nerve cells. How can these children acquire any knowledge if they do not even pay attention to about what teachers are talking? Obama, one of the greatest presidents in American history, used to be a drunkard when he was young. At that time, he was addicted to the social website and enjoyed chatting with beautiful women. Not a second time was saved for reviewing his textbook and preparing the final exams As a result, he failed all the tests and was on the verge of dropping out of school. It was the social website and cell phone that prevented him from good education. Fortunately, one of his teachers helped him in getting rid of social website and Obama was back on his feet again. Years later, he succeed and was awarded the Nobel Prize for peace.

To conclude, modern technologies and innovations like cell phone and online games turn out to be detrimental to the education of children. Therefore, it is more difficult to educate people today than it was in the past.