Essay topics: TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are certain considerations or factors which everyone can take into account to investigate and examine how estimation of teachers' work in contemporary society has changed over time. I certainly believe that nowadays educators are less appreciated and valued by public than they used to be. Someone can consciously weigh the pros and cons of each side. The explanations go as follows.

Firstly, a role of education and knowledge has slumped tremendously at the end of the twenty century. Since the technological revolution of XIX century the role of education was enormous and it was widely and unquestionably associated with lucrative work and a possibility to get a better life. In fact, a person with a college degree surely was able to find a job and his income was up to ten times higher than one of an average farmer. However, today this connection has weakened because people can witness that a diploma or a college degree does not automatically lead to employment and other benefits. Thus the role of educators who used to be seen as a key to a better life has lost its value.

Secondly, in the past teachers were perceived as only available source of knowledge. In fact, in the past there was no obvious options, if you want to get a new skill, profession or knowledge, you will have to pay attention to your teacher who by default knows the subject better then you. Additionally to it, there was a shortage of good textbooks and they were really expensive. Today information, knowledge is widely available and cheap. In fact, a person with a laptop may unearth all needed data on-line and in no costs.

Admittedly, there are some justifications by one who argues that teachers' work is more appreciated by the today's society than it was in the past. Chiefly, this stance is made by people from rural and removed areas who claim that teachers are respected and prized by the locals. However, still I affirm that the attitude to educators has worsen in average because even in those rural areas the attitude to teachers will alter after such modern technology as the internet, computers, which currently unavailable in some regions, will arrive to the remote areas.

Due to aforementioned ground, the attitude to teachers' role in contemporary society has surely worsened and in average people are prone to appreciate their toil less than in the past.