The extended family is less important now than it was in the past.

Nothing is permanent except Change! Today mankind is undergoing through series of changes in all the sectors of life for example, eating habits, living habits and basic needs have changed a lot. Changes in the family is also seen from early 20th century. And this changes are spreading throughout the world like an epidemic. I totally agree with the given statement that importance of extended family has been decreased greatly and a new concept of Nuclear family is getting famous worldwide. I will explain few points to support my opinion in coming paragraphs!

First reason is the Increased cost of living. Yes cost of living has increased greatly in this modern world. As a result many people are unable to receive very basic need like food and shelter. Due to this reason people are turning their families more and more smaller. If we have a smaller family, the cost of living would decrease accordingly. Prices of land has also increased due to more demand. Demand for land is more as population outgrow in beyond control. If one have a large family, they will need more space to live and this will again increase the living cost of family. One survey report says that 55% of overall population of India lives under the poverty line and among them 45% as a nuclear family. This number shows the influence of money on the style of living.

Second reason is change in the mentality of young generation. In my country people were used to live with their parents and grand parents in old times. But now the scenario has changed. younger people are following western culture blindly and thus moving towards living in a nuclear family away from their parents. This changes has been seen in all the parts of my country right from metro cities to a very small village, no one is ready to stay in the family of more than four people.

So to conclude,I would like to say that decreased importance of extended family is due to poverty and advancing mentality of youth. This has given rise to new type of family that is Nuclear family which is cost effective and considered as a high standard of living in today's advancing world. As i mentioned above Change is an eternal phenomenon and therefor reduced importance of extended family than past is obvious and expected.