A foreign visitor has only one day to spend in your country. Where should this visitor go on that day? Why? Use specific reasons and details to support your choice.

India, my birthplace, is a land of colors, fragrances, history, paradoxes –glaring paradoxes. Even though India is the third largest economy after U.S and China, people of India have not lost the touch of cordiality and authenticity. The vastness and depth of the country and its culture is impossible to experience in just one day.

If the visitor has just one day to spend in my country then he must visit Taj Mahal, in Agra. This monument is of pure marble, built by Emperor Shah Jahan to commemorate his beloved wife, Mumtaaz. This monument, with its sheer beauty and magnificence, has captured the minds of everyone worldwide. It is amongst the Seven Wonders of the World and one of the finest examples of splendor and love.

Delhi, the capital city of India, is not so far away from Agra. A person visiting Agra can surely visit Delhi and at the same time get a glimpse of our culture. The city of Delhi is full of historic monuments, a few of which have been declared world heritage sites. Out of many, a few that deserve special mention are Qutub Minar, Red Fort, Jantar Mantar, Lutyens Garden, Raj Ghat, India Gate, Jama Masjid, Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Qutub Minar is a 73 m high structure built by Qutub-ud-din-aibak, to commemorate his victory over the last Hindu kingdom of Delhi. It is, without any dispute, considered one of the best structures of the world. In the same complex, the tourist may want to see the Iron Pillar that is 7 meter tall and composed of rust resistant metal. It dates back to 4th century A.D and highlights India’s achievements in metallurgy dates back to ancient times. One must also visit Red fort. It was used for official residence purposes for around 200 years till 1857, by the Mughal emperors of India. Today, every independence day, our Prime Minister hoists our National Flag here.

Everyone has heard about Mahatma Gandhi, the father of our nation. Raj Ghat, a memorial to Mahatma Gandhi, is built on the banks of river Yamuna. This place is one of the major tourist attractions in India. If anyone wants a detailed information about the life of the great Mahatma, then this place will be a good start.

Apart from monuments one might want to taste the world renowned ‘Chats’ and ‘Pani-Puris’ of Chandani Chowk in Old Delhi. One may find numerous little restaurants, opposite Jama masjid, that, i am sure, will take you to an entirely new and excitingly different world of tastes.

By the way of conclusion, i think if anyone is planning for a day-long trip to India, then he must visit Delhi and Agra. These two places will leave him wanting for more.