In general, people are living longer now. Discuss the causes of this phenomenon. Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

These days, people`s quality of life has improved tremendously, if compare with the past. I can say that I live better life than my grandparents. This is because of advanced technology, medicine and support of the government.

First of all, modern technology lets people do not work as hard physically as they did before. For example, in agricultural sector availability of a variety of tractors and combains made it possible to decrease time spended on a field. This way, with the use of modern technology, contemporary farmers need less time to bail hay and accomplish the harvest. The time left, they can devote to their families and enjoyable activities, which let them stay physically and psychologicaly healthier, and live longer.

Secondly, with the development of medicine, people have access to effective treatment of a myriad of illnesses. For instance, today, people do not stragle from plague or polio, which killed millions of people a few centures ago. This became possible with the discovery of the antibiotics and vaccines. Moreover, new medicine let successfuly treat certain types of cancer, such as the brest cancer. Therefore, millions of women from all aroud the world had a chance to live happy lives with theit loved ones.

Finally, modern government programs help citizens to overcome difficulties. This way, American government provide low of cost medical help to the retired , the disable and the poor. The programs such as Medicare and Medicade let the people in need to obtain free medicine and medical treatment, and hance, maintain theit health and fight with desiases. This undoubtedly improves citizens` quality of life. Although some of the medical services for such groups of people have to be paid out of pocket, the value of the programs cannot be underestimated.

To conclude, I strongly believe that people today live longer lives for the reasons of constantly developed technology, medicine and government projects.