Governments should spend more money in sponsoring arts than in athletics (like state Olympics team).

There is a wide variety of proposals and projects that all governments are required to allocate sufficient budget for. In order to boost people's well-being physically and mentally, governments must support both art and athletics financially. When it comes to offering financial aids by governments, controversy surrounds the issue of whether a government should provide more funds for arts in comparison with athletics or not. Some people are of the opinion that since art is a source of recreational activities, governments should pay more attention. I believe, however, sports and athletes need to be supported by authorities of a country for the following reasons.

One of the most interesting aspects of the current discussion which needs to be reflected is that allocating attention to athletes and athletics would contribute to a healthy society. These days, it would be a common concern among parents who are not sure of their offspring's futures due to their addiction to drug, gambling and other illegal activities. In fact, parents do not know how to keep their children from not being affected by unhealthy atmosphere of a society in which taking drug has been an usual issue among even teenagers. Under these circumstances, it is the government's responsibility to protect tomorrow's parents by encouraging children to take part in sports, exercise and other athletics. For example, when a government set priority over sports through its financial assistance, such attitude will motivate children and adults to be one of those professional athletes in the future. In addition, they might set their favorites players as their role models who encourage their fans to have a healthy lifestyles.

Another noteworthy aspect of the ongoing discussion which demands a keen contemplation is that spending money on sports means boosing economy. If a government sets preference over sports, athletes especially those, who have international reputation in the world, can be a good motivator for their fans to watch their competitions. In this case, by increasing the number of fans from all over the world, the host country can generate considerable revenues by catching the tourists' attention to that country with it famous sports and athletes. This leads to local improvement, reduction in unemployment since all these fans need a place to stay, to eat, and someone to guide them in a foreign country.

To sum up, setting example of athletes as role models and economic improvement are the results of offering more financial supports by governments to athletes and sports.