If you were am employer, which kind of worker would you prefer to hire: an inexperienced worker at a lower salary or an experienced worker at a higher salary? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

As an employer, I would take the liberty to assess both the types of worker to employ the one most desirous for the enterprise. A number of factors would be necessary to be considered before making a choice. While I would like to tap the energy and enthusiasm of a fresh, inexperienced worker with whom I can also expect to save on the budget of the enterprise, I would also prefer to have a mature, seasoned worker who can provide insight into the problems faced by my organisation. Both types of employees have their own merits and demerits. As such, both need to be thoroughly investigated for reaping the maximum benefits for the organisation.

First of all, an inexperienced worker is ussually drawn from the populace of fresh graduates. This type of a candidate possess the vitality, enthusiam and the knowledge that has been recently imbibed through their classes or internships. Besides, such candidates are likely to work much harder than an experienced candidate, given the urge to create a positive impression that eventually determines their professional growth. Furthermore, an inexperienced employee would be more ameanable and he/she would be more flexible to adapt to the work culture of the organisation. In contrast, a seasoned candidate would be difficult to command over, given his maturity and status and would demand the environment to suit his interest, rather than him adapting to it.

However, inexperienced candidates would obviously lack the discernment and insight of an experienced candidate. The fineness and maturity to handle the trying times of the organisation would be missing from a fresh candidate. Besides, even though they can be initially employed with a lower salary, they would need to be trained and made fit for their work. Trainers would then need to be employed and paid. Finally, together with these trainers and training resources, the ultimate cost of employing an inexperienced person would be tantamount to the salary of an experienced. Moreover bonuses and other incentives would be necessary to boost their mettle. This all proves that economy cannot be expected to be influenced much positively by employing an inexperienced candidate.

Given these demerits, the experienced candidate appears more fitting to the enterprise. But again, they possess their own disadvantage. Apart from being prone to be lackadaisical, they are also less likely to be at par with the latest developments in their fields. So in times when a state-of-the-art approach would be necessary, even their experience gathered from a dozen years in the field would be of little help to the enterprise.

Hence, I would prefer that both types of workers undergo a similar and thorough background check on their knowledge and enthusiasm, and also be both equally subjected to a unique analysis that tests their adriotness in the field. This analysis can be made uniform so that their respective approach to the same test conditions can be examined dispassionately. That given, I as a worker would be able to choose whoever is best for the interest of my entreprise.