Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect in your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away.

-Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader.

-say nothing

Undoubtedly, being involved in places in which people have close working relationships, taking care of the behavior is of great importance. Misbehavior during a serious working situation will end up in an awful decline in position or totally expelling from the job. Therefore, In my notion, being patient will be the most reasonable action among the options presented.

To begin with, one of the most important feature of a meeting is its quietness and organization. This is very usual that some of the meeting members make mistakes during their speech or presentations. In this case, the reciprocal reaction would be greatly decisive. Postponing the critic’s reply to the end of the session will be a wise choice, because of that interruption and correcting the mistake immediately may cause a debate in the meeting which is completely against the standard rules of a meeting. This may bother the other audience and bring inconsistency to the lecture as well. Tranquility makes big differences in critical circumstances specially the ones related to formal meetings.

Furthermore, people usually are not able to provide convincing answers in a short time. In fact, this is common that meeting leaders look for very tiny points to bring them up as the wrong aspects. Thereby, to make a good answer to their idea, one should profoundly think in advance. In this case the reply would be comprehensive in order to satisfy the meeting leader efficiently. Conversely, an inadequate response would have an adverse effect on the whole reputation of the lecturer, Therefore an exhaustive response takes time, and it’s not possible to make it in a few seconds during lecture.

Finally, if it is possible to advocate of your opinion and ideas against what the fault-finder asks, it still wouldn’t be a rational option. It’s been observed many times in the conferences that when people begin to talk and debate about a mere point of mistake during the lecture, it takes such a time that many main ideas of the presentation would be overlooked. Ultimately it will be negative point from the lecturer and with a nice management of time, this will not occur.

To put in a nutshell, accepting the opposing ideas from other people is a valuable feature that is gainable only with practice. It greatly impacts the others attitude toward us, as a result everyone acts according to the most plausible one which is staying calm.