It is better to ask your own knowledge and experience to solve problems than to ask other people for advice.

Knowledge and experience are the biggest weapons against problems and every now and then people seek for advice in complex matters. Other people who already have faced similar situations are sought after to provide their judgement of the situation. In my view it is better to ask your own knowledge and experience to approach problems than to ask other peoples. There are several reasons for this stance.

Firstly, seeking for advice frequently may cloud one's judgement. All us have met people who are always bewildered and do not know what they are supposed to do, and their confusion only increases as they approach more and more peoples for help. This happens because as they get more and more ideas from other people it becomes difficult for them to single out one solution. For instance, a friend of mine wanted to study abroad, but he was not sure about it as a result he started taking advice from all the friends consequently he ended up more confused than he had ever been.

Secondly, seeking for an expert or mature insight debilitates one from taking an individual instance, be it a situation related to business, government, education or family. Looking up to others will take away the sense of individuality from one seeking the advice. For instance, a well known politician in India Mr. Rahul Gandhi is well know for consulting a lot with his mother before making any moves, as a result his image after being in politics for life time is that of an immature politician.

In addition, some times people get persuaded by strong arguments as the people who give advice tend to defend their stand. This results in people ending up taking decision they are not happy about. For instance, in any public setting where people discuss about political issues, one can observe that when a contender presents strong arguments and facts other contenders yield to the point supported by the arguments.

However, there are many benefits of taking advice from people who have experience in dealing with similar problems, that is why we see most of the high positions filled by people with white hairs. There are several situations when one is not capable of handling the situations as they are more complex in nature or might be a first timer for peoples, in such situations taking help from experts is the right thing to do. But otherwise one should look for weapons they have in their own inventory.

In conclusion, for the reasons given above one should be meticulous about asking advice from others. It only helps when taken in right situation. Therefore, it can be said that one should look up to his own expertise to solve problems he faces.