It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.

Choosing a profession is a problem that a lot of people find it very decisive and difficult to solve. Two important factor in making such decisions are parents job and personal interest. In my opinion, choosing a job that is very different from the parent's job is both challenging and difficult to pursue. However, personal interest should have a higher weight in the process. So, neither similarity or difference of parents job should have a predominant effect on the decision process.

First of all, by choosing a job similar to your parents you have the chance to use all of their experiences. These experiences include both home management and working experience. As a result, you won't start from scratch and whenever you need a consult you have your parents beside you to help you. On the other hand, by choosing a job dissimilar to your parents' job, you need to double or even triple times your efforts to learn new things and be successful.

Second, self-interest should play a significant role in the process of job selection. Nonetheless, the personal abilities are a restrictive factor that we have to take into consideration. However, nothing can stop a strong will. So, when self-interest comes into play, other factors become blurred and the child should be assured that he or she should follow his/her dreams, otherwise the child may feel regret that had not followed his personal dream or interest.

As discussed in above lines, children should make a free and wise decision by receiving an honest advice and the similarity or dissimilarity of a job to parents job should not be a restrictive element for children.